MacPro and MacBook Pro Gone in 60 Seconds

I’m standing in the Apple Store in WestQuay, Southampton for the third straight hour, awaiting the emergency repair of my MacBook Pro. A month ago my studio mainstay, my Mac Pro Tower of Power, turned out to be susceptible to overheating which ultimately destroyed both the Video card and logic board.

The machine is, I believe, still somewhere in Reading. I’ve been firmly told to stop nagging to have it back.

My MacBook Pro (2008, 2.6, 17″) has been my lifeline for work. Yesterday it died. The ‘high failure rate’ video card (NVIDIA 8600M GT) went into meltdown. This is, of course, integrated with the logic board… so a new logic board for the laptop as well as the tower. I’m not letting this one out of my sight, so I have demanded an on-site repair while-I-wait. And wait. And wait.

Meanwhile, I’m typing this up in-store on a Mac Mini, and I must say, it’s diabolically fast.I may have to buy one… Also worth mentioning that the chaps at the Apple Store have been enormously helpful and polite. Good job.

